Conway ruled out of World Cup final, India T20Is

Devon Conway has been ruled out of the ICC T20 World Cup final against Australia and the subsequent T20I series in India after breaking his hand during the semifinal clash against England. He’s now in a race against time to be fit for the two-Test series in India.

Conway struck the bat with his hand after he was dismissed and scans confirmed a break to his right-hand fifth Metacarpal. “He’s absolutely gutted to be ruled out like this at this time,” head coach Gary Stead said. “Devon is hugely passionate about playing for the BLACKCAPS and no one is more disappointed at the moment than he is – so we’re really trying to rally around him.

“It looked a pretty innocuous reactionary incident on the field, but the blow obviously caught the bat between the glove padding and while it’s not the smartest thing he’s done there’s certainly an element of bad luck in the injury.

“Devon is a great team-man and a very popular member of the side so we’re all feeling for him. He’s determined to support the team in anyway he can for the remainder of the tour before he returns home to recover. Due to the timelines we won’t be bringing in a replacement player for this World Cup or next week’s T20 series against India, but are working through our options for the Test series later this month.”

Conway played six games in the T20 World Cup and scored 129 runs at a strike rate of 108.40. New Zealand, who finished second in Group 2, pulled off a thrilling win against England to book their place in the final.

Source: https://www.cricbuzz.com/cricket-news/119819/conway-ruled-out-of-world-cup-final-india-t20is

For more news and Live updates of Cricket download our app- https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.learning.cricket247

 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *